Jun 13, 2019

GIA Governors’ Annual Meeting in Tel Aviv Welcomes New Board Member

The GIA Board of Governors, which held its scheduled meeting in Tel Aviv, Israel, in May, welcomed Patricia Ann ‘Kiko’ Harvey, Inspector General and Director of Oversight at the United Nations World Food Programme, in Rome, Italy, as the newest member on the Institute’s governing body.

“It is a pleasure to welcome Kiko Harvey to the GIA Board of Governors,” said Dione Kenyon, chair of the Board. “Her global experience, broad perspective and expertise will help steer the Institute as we plan for the future.”

Susan Jacques, GIA President and CEO commented: “The GIA Board of Governors is crucial to the successful execution of our mission and strategic initiatives. I am very grateful for their wise counsel and dedicated service.”

With more than 30 years of executive level experience in the private and public sectors, Harvey has held senior management positions at Delta Air Lines and Starbucks, as well as Yum Brands-Taco Bell and Price Waterhouse. In the course of her career, she has focused on risk, internal audit and compliance. She is a certified public accountant with a certification in risk management assurance and received her Bachelor of Science and Master of Accounting degrees from the University of Southern California.

After the meeting concluded in Tel Aviv, the members of the GIA Board and its other executives travelled to Antwerp, Belgium, to formally open the new GIA laboratory in that important global diamond centre. The team also held meetings with trade representatives of the Antwerp World Diamond Centre; and visited diamond manufacturing and trading companies while in the diamond trading hub.

“The role of the GIA Board of Governors is to direct the strategy of the Institute to ensure that the mission and vision of GIA are followed in all decisions; that the reputation of GIA is preserved and continues to grow globally; and that the financial goals of the Institute are met,” the GIA reiterated.

Pic caption: The GIA Board of Governors visited the Antwerp Diamond Bourse after their May meeting in Tel Aviv. Pictured from left, front row: Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., Lisa A. Locklear, Susan M. Jacques, Board Chair Dione D. Kenyon, Samantha F. Ravich, Ph.D., Kiko Harvey, Barbara L. Dutrow, Ph.D. Pictured from left, second row: Thomas M. Moses, Stephen F. Kahler, Thomas H. Insley, Amit Dhamani, John W. Valley, Ph.D., Robert Andrew ‘Andy’ Johnson, Lawrence Ma. Not pictured: Elliot Tannenbaum and Thomas T. Yang.   

Pic Courtesy: GIA