GIA Governors Convene In Tel Aviv For Annual Meeting

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) board of governors welcomed Patricia Ann ‘Kiko’ Harvey, inspector general and director of oversight at the United Nations World Food Programme, as the newest member to the institute’s governing body at the regularly scheduled board meeting held in Tel Aviv, Israel in May.

“It is a pleasure to welcome Kiko Harvey to the GIA Board of Governors,” said Dione Kenyon, chair of the board. “Her global experience, broad perspective and expertise will help steer the institute as we plan for the future.”

“The GIA board of governors is crucial to the successful execution of our mission and strategic initiatives. I am very grateful for their wise counsel and dedicated service,” said Susan Jacques, GIA president and CEO.

Harvey is the inspector general and director of oversight at the United Nations World Food Programme in Rome, Italy. With more than 30 years of executive-level experience in the private and public sectors, Harvey held senior management positions at Delta Air Lines and Starbucks, as well as Yum Brands-Taco Bell and Price Waterhouse, focused on risk, internal audit and compliance. She is a certified public accountant with a certification in risk management assurance and received her Bachelor of Science and Master of Accounting degrees from the University of Southern California.

Following the meeting in Tel Aviv, the board and GIA executives travelled to Antwerp, Belgium to formally open the new GIA laboratory in that important global diamond centre. While there, they held meetings with Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC) trade representatives and visited diamond manufacturing and trading companies.

The role of the GIA board of governors is to direct the strategy of the institute to ensure that the mission and vision of GIA are followed in all decisions; that the reputation of GIA is preserved and continues to grow globally; and that the financial goals of the institute are met.

Caption: The GIA board of governors visited the Antwerp Diamond Bourse after their May meeting in Tel Aviv. (From left, front row) Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., Lisa A. Locklear, Susan M. Jacques, board chair Dione D. Kenyon, Samantha F. Ravich, Ph.D., Kiko Harvey, and Barbara L. Dutrow, Ph.D. (From left, second row) Thomas M. Moses, Stephen F. Kahler, Thomas H. Insley, Amit Dhamani, John W. Valley, Ph.D., Robert Andrew ‘Andy’ Johnson, and Lawrence Ma. (Not pictured) Elliot Tannenbaum and Thomas T. Yang. Photo by GIA.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Discover the latest collections, news, and exclusive launches from us.